What is Gotcha Day in Adoption?

By

Deborah Vieyra

Oct 21 2022

·

4 min read

hero image

Gotcha Day in adoption is a complex celebration that needs to be handled with care. We’ll take you through it — including the controversy that’s very much a part of it. If you’ve heard the term Gotcha Day in an adoption context, you may already know that it comes with a fair share of controversy.

Opinions are certainly divided here, with some people believing it’s a special way to celebrate a new addition to a family, and others that it’s an offensive concept that should be done away with.

So what is Gotcha Day?

And why is there such mixed thinking around it?

We’ll take you through the meaning, significance, and history of this disputed term — and key you in on why some people are not fans of it.

Let’s dive in.

In this article: 📝

What is meant by Gotcha Day?

Who started Gotcha Day?

Why is it called Gotcha Day?

What do you say instead of Gotcha Day?

What is meant by Gotcha Day?

Adoption “Gotcha Day” is the day — and all its subsequent anniversaries — when an adopted child or pet comes into your life.

For families adopting a child, Gotcha Day can mark the day they meet their child for the first time, the day the adoption is finalized, or the day they officially join their family.

Adoption can be a challenging process, filled with huge emotional highs and lows.

And when it finally comes through, it can certainly feel worth celebrating.

Hence the desire to mark the occasion.

Who started Gotcha Day?

The term has been used in adoption circles for a few decades.

The first official International “Gotcha Day” took place in 2005.

It was the brainchild of Chicago Spectrum Press as part of the promotion for Margaret Schwartz’ book The Pumpkin Patch: A Single Woman’s International Adoption Journey.

The idea behind the day was to raise awareness about adoption and support a growing community of families on the journey.

In particular, it became a way to explore the joys and complexities of cross-cultural adoption.

Ways to mark the occasion include putting together a photo album of your time as a family, telling stories of your experiences together, and preparing food from the country the child is originally from.

But while this celebration intends to cultivate community and connection, it’s not without its critics.

Why is it called Gotcha Day?

Quite simply, it’s called Gotcha Day because it’s the day you can say I “gotcha” (or I “got you”) to your adopted child.

For some, this can sound endearing — a way of showing that you’ve found one another and expressing your new bond.

But here’s where the controversy comes in.

“Getting” someone is not necessarily the nicest way to talk about growing a family.

Research has explored the danger of the “commodification” of the adoption process — essentially “getting” a child just like you would “get” a new car or appliance.

Adding international adoption into the picture can raise even more questions.

Can you pick up a child in the same way you would pick up a souvenir on a trip abroad?

It’s not hard to see how easily this language can become dangerous.

But it’s not only a language issue that makes this celebration problematic.

It’s the fact that some might find it painful to celebrate an adoption anniversary at all.

While celebration may be a part of adoption, there’s a lot that is left out of the discussion when we speak only in terms of what is gained.

Adoption also comes with grief and loss, an issue even more relevant in cross-cultural processes.

As adoptee Sophie Johnson writes for the Huffington Post, Gotcha Day can leave kids “sad and confused.”

While parents may be celebrating finally “getting” the child they’ve dreamed of, kids are navigating several mixed emotions — some of which are deep loss and pain.

The idea of having to put on a big smile and celebrate can feel at best inauthentic and, at worst, deeply hurtful.

What do you say instead of Gotcha Day?

If you would like to celebrate the day your child came into your life, but Gotcha Day doesn’t feel like the right term, you can call it an “adoption anniversary” or “family day.”

Adoption is a uniquely special, utterly life-changing beginning.

It’s also never without complexity.

Whether you say Happy Gotcha Day! or not, we wish you all the best in this adventure ahead.

And if you need support along the way, your Peanut community is here for you. You don’t have to do this alone.

Facebook logo
Threads logo
x logo
Copy link icon

Trending in the community

Baby #2??

I really want baby number 2 and am thinking of doing it via IUI as a solo mama!
Has anyone had any experiences with it 👀

Avatar

1

3

Tests

So I had a blood test at the drs bc I keep getting positive tests when the blood test was negative what could this mean? Hubby says the tests are negative and said he can’t see anything. Negative image down below.

Avatar

3

I'm so not meant to be a mother.

My kids won't listen to me get into stuff when they know they aren't supposed to. Telling me no all the time. Only listen to their dad. Laughs when I correct them. I spend most of my time yelling at them because they don't want to listen to me at all. My husband said that I shouldn't have kids. And I am believing him on it. I was never meant to be a mother now. I won't hurt my kids I just want to disappear and make everyone else's lives better without me.

Avatar

3

Am I pregnant?

I lightly spotted almost 5 days ago, which is not common for me before my period.
My period was supposed to come today. I should have tested in the morning but its 5:30pm.
Is there a second line??

Avatar

1

9

Anyone have this happen before?

We were not trying to conceive, used protection and had sex on week 2 of my cycle (accidentally on my peak ovulation day). Week 3 we had Flu A. Week 4 my period did not come (it’s very regular). I tested and it was negative (2 different brands).
What should have been week 2 of my next cycle (now 6 weeks post last period), I had light red/ pink spotting for one day when I wiped. The following week, I tested again, still negative, but this time almost all the dye was in the negative space, which I’ve never seen happen before. The area where it shows one horizontal line for negative and a plus sign for positive, the horizontal line was super faded at the 3 minute mark, and the negative vertical line in the next window was VERY dark. Now I’m on week 8 of all this, period did not show up yesterday. Nothing in my life has changed (no additional stress, no other illness, no changes in diet or exercise, etc).

Has anyone gone through this and NOT been pregnant? I’m super nervous as we thought we were done having kids.

PS. I know I should go get a blood test, does anyone know if urgent care will do that? I’m past being convinced by a pee test.

Avatar

8

Help pls

I'm 7 weeks pp. Not had sex or even done anything but my tests have come back positive. I wouldnt test but had symptoms of pregnancy so I tested. What does this mean? Google says it should have been negative at this stage unless its a new pregnancy or bits of placenta has been left behind. I had a c section so 🤷‍♀️

Avatar

3

Read more on Peanut

Want to find your village?

qr code

Scan to Join

Rated 4.4

star
star
star
star
star half

Trusted by 5M+ women

join peanut